The “Brooklyn Nine-Nine” Squad to Turn In Badges After Eight Seasons

Terry Crews, Melissa Fumero, Andy Samberg, and Stephanie Beatriz in "Brooklyn Nine-Nine"

Jake Peralta and his squad have been making us laugh for almost a decade, but it’s time for them to turn in their badges. The beloved police procedural comedy Brooklyn Nine-Nine is coming to an end after eight hilarious seasons.

Co-creator Dan Goor broke the news in an emotional social media post, admitting that ending the show was a difficult decision. He added this felt like the best way to honor the characters and fans and thanked everyone who made Brooklyn Nine-Nine possible. “I feel incredibly lucky to have worked with this amazing cast and crew for eight seasons. They are not only among the most talented people in the business, they are all good human beings who have become a family. But most of all, I feel lucky that we have had the best fans in the world,” said Goor.

Since premiering in 2013, Brooklyn Nine-Nine received universal acclaim, shifted networks after being canceled, and got countless award nominations, in addition to winning a Golden Globe for the best comedy series. It’s often been hailed as one of the best ensemble sitcoms of its time, and its main cast included Andy Samberg, Andre Braugher, Terry Crews, Melissa Fumero, Stephanie Beatriz, and Joe Lo Truglio.